Endorsements for Local School Board Candidates

May 12, 2017 Activist HotSpot
Endorsements for Local School Board Candidates

Amityville Teachers Association

Carolyn Dodd (Former Local President and NYSUT retiree)


Babylon Teachers Association

The order they appear on the ballot is as follows:

1A. Linda Jurs (incumbent)

2A. Dominick Montalto (incumbent)

4A. Carol Ann Dell'Erba (NYSUT member and incumbent)


Bayport-Blue Point Teachers Association

Michael Miller (Incumbent facing challenges)

Daniene Byrne (Incumbent facing challenges)


Brentwood Teachers Association

Simone Holder-Daniel

Maria Gonzalez-Prescod

Julia Burgos (NYSUT Retiree, Former Exec Board Member of BTA)


Center Moriches Teachers Association

George Maxwell


Commack Teachers Association

Jen Carpenter

Bill Hender (NYSUT member)


Kings Park Classroom Teachers Association

While no official endorsement for the one open seat, the KPTA is comfortable

with either of the two candidates:

Joe Bianco

Katy Cardinale


Middle Country Teachers Association

Eliness Estevez

Doreen P. Feldmann

Dina Philips


Miller Place Teachers Association

Lisa Reitan (NYSUT Member)

Rich Panico


Mount Sinai Teachers Association

Bob Sweeney (Incumbent)

Pete Van Middelem (Incumbent)

Ed Law (Incumbent)


North Babylon Teachers Organization

GeriAnn Macnamee


Northport, United Teachers of

Donna McNaughton (Incumbent)


Patchogue-Medford Congress of Teachers

Diane Andrade

Kelly Anne Jennings

Vote Yes on Proposition 1 (The Budget)

Vote Yes on Proposition 2 (Use of Capital Reserve Funds for Building Repairs)


Port Jefferson Station Teachers Association (Comsewogue School District)

Ali Gordon

Jim Sanchez


Riverhead Central Faculty Association

Christopher Dorr

Therese Zuhoski

Gregory Meyer


Rocky Point Teachers Association; Rocky Point School Related Professionals Assoc.

Sean Callahan (NYSUT)

Joseph Coniglione.


Sag Harbor Teachers Association

Diana Kohloff

January Kerr

Alex Kriegsman


Sayville Teachers Association

Tom Cooley (Incumbent. Facing a challenge)

Debbie Van Essendelft (Incumbent. Unopposed)


Shoreham-Wading RiverTeachers Association

Katie Anderson (Column 2)

Henry Perez (Column 3)

James Smith (Column 4)

Erin Hunt (Column 5)


Smithtown Teachers Association

Matthew Gribbin (NYSUT member)


South Huntington Teachers Association

Andrew Bronson

Sidney Joyner

Thomas Teresky (NO! NO! NO!) - It is very important that we keep him off

the board.


Three Village Teachers Association

Inger Germano

Irene Gische

Dr. Jeffrey Kerman


West Babylon Teachers Association

Ray Downey (Incumbent)

Cathy Gismervick (Incumbent)

Jennifer Longo (Incumbent)


West Islip Teachers Association

Ron Maginniss (Incumbent) There are 3 candidates running for two seats.


Local Endorsed Candidates
Baldwin TA Karyn Reid
Farmingdale FT Ralph Morales, Arlene Soete
Franklin Square TA Jean Fichtl
Great Neck TA Rebecca Sassouni, Jeffrey Shi
Hempstead CTA Melissa Figueroa
Hicksville CT Christopher Amato (NYSUT member)
Locust Valley SEA John DelTatto, Sarah Henris, Shawn Steele
Long Beach CTA Lori Montgomery (NYSUT retired member)
Massapequa FT Gary Baldinger, Janice Talento
North Merrick FA Tracey Miller (NYSUT member), Ed Corona (NYSUT member)
Roosevelt TA Hendrick Fayetter
Syosset TA Dr. Michael Cohen, Carol Cheng 
Wantagh UT Liz Guber, Adam Fisher
Westbury TA Rodney Caines (#3), Robin Bolling (#4)

Related articles